Celebrate Literacy Award

Nomination Information

Nomination Form

The Wyoming State Literacy Association would like to recognize the 2018-2019 Celebrate Literacy recipients for their contribution and support of literacy in Wyoming. The students and adults in Wyoming benefit from the efforts and dedication of these recipients.

Patt Hilmer was nominated by the Washakie County Reading for her outstanding and consistent dedication to improving literacy opportunities for young people through her position as a library/media Para educator and her active participation and leadership in the Washakie County Reading Council. Patt encourages her young students by teaching them library skills, reading to and with them, and working with them to find books of interest. Patt is also instrumental in assisting the classroom teachers with books for special learning units. Patt's energy and organization skills are vital to the Young Author's Program. Patt coordinates the pro-gram for the local contest. She has also coordinated an author visit to our local schools. Patt is a doer and demonstrates the value she places on literacy by her actions, support, and gracious sharing of her time and effort. Congratulations Patt!

The Casper Literacy Council nominated Ginny Nading for the impact on literacy she makes in the school community and beyond through her work with students, teachers, and fami-lies. Ginny serves as a librarian and makerspace instructor. She devotes countless hours to organize, plan, teach, and deliver literacy activities in many forms. Ginny has taught students how to seek out information and research interests for their personal Genius Hour projects. She incorporates literacy into STEAM and hands-on activities as well as instilling the love of reading and literature in students. Ginny organizes book fairs and Read Across America events. Walking into Ginny's classroom and library, a love for learn-ing, literacy, and fun is evident. Congratulations Ginny!